Latest News‎ > ‎

Bourke’s six goals for Sars

posted 2 Aug 2012, 08:00 by Unknown user   [ updated 2 Aug 2012, 08:18 ]

Bourke’s six goals for Sars

Thurles Sarsfields 7-16 Loughmore-Castleiney 2-13 

By Michael Dundon

Monday, July 30, 2012

County man Pa Bourke hit a whopping six goals as Thurles Sarsfields blitzed holders Loughmore-Castleiney in a disappointingly one-sided Mid Tipperary senior hurling final at Templemore.

A huge crowd attended expecting a classic but inside ten minutes, Bourke had bagged three goals for Sarsfields from 20m frees leaving a shell-shocked Loughmore trailing 3-4 to 0-2. 

And it didn’t stop there as, in injury time before the interval, he added two more to put Sarsfields in an almost unassailable position leading 5-7 to 1-5. Loughmore’s sole consolation was Noel McGrath’s goal in the 21st minute. 

A mighty effort was required of the holders in the second half but it didn’t materialise. Loughmore scored five points to Sarsfields two but Pa Bourke’s sixth goal in the 46th minute ended all possibility of a Loughmore rally. Sub Aidan McCormack banged home goal number seven in the 22nd minute, and though Noel McGrath netted for Loughmore four minutes later, the game was well and truly over. 

Bourke was withdrawn shortly before the finish and received a standing ovation for a scoring performance that will have historians scouring the record books. 

It was by no means a one-man show however. Padraic Maher, Michael O’Brien, Michael Gleeson, Michael Cahill, Ger O’Grady and sub Aidan McCormack all made significant contributions. 

Loughmore-Castleiney will view this as a freak result and hope for better things in the county championship. Veteran David Kennedy, Liam McGrath, Noel McGrath, and Tom King all tried manfully to stem the tide. 

Sarsfields: P McCormack; S Maher, K O Gorman, S Lillis; D Kennedy, P Maher, M Cahill; M Gleeson (0-2), J Enright; L Corbett (0-1), J Corbett, P Bourke (6-3); M O Brien (0-4), D Maher (0-1), G O’Grady (0-1). 

Subs: A McCormack (1-4) for Enright; R Ruth for J Corbett; JJ Bourke for P Bourke. 

Loughmore-Castleiney: J Scully; T McGrath, D Bourke, W Eviston; A McGrath (0-1), E Connolly, T King; N McGrath (2-1), L Treacy(0-1); E Sweeney (0-1), C McGrath, J McGrath; L McGrath (0-6), D Kennedy (0-2), C Hennessy (0-1). 
Subs: J Ryan for Sweeney; T Long for Bourke; L Egan for Hennessy. 

Ref: M Ryan, Moyne-Templetuohy