Latest News‎ > ‎

Club Notes Week-Ending January 22nd

posted 19 Jan 2011, 16:56 by Unknown user

The club held its 127th Annual Convention in our clubhouse on Saturday night last,with a large crowd in attendance.We will report in detail on the business of Convention in next weeks notes.The following Officers and Committee were elected for 2011.
Chairman-Michael Maher
Vice-Chairmen-Peter Lanigan,Jim Max
Secretary-Thomas Callanan,
Asst Secretary(2)-Trevor Cooke,John Maher,
Treasurer-Philip Leahy,
Asst Treasurer-Brian Burke
PRO-Ger Corbett,
Registrar-Ger Donnelly,

Committee Members:Joe Barrett,Ronan Spain,John Cahill,Jackie Cooke,Martin Doyle,Jimmy Doyle,Paul Lanigan,Connie Maher,Garry Mernagh,Pat O Shea,Raymond O Riordan,John McCormack,T.J.Lyons,Michael O Mahoney,Martin O Brien.

Membership rates for 2011 show no increase from last year.
Family(2 Adults & Children U/16) €60.
Adult playing €50
Adult non playing €30
OAPs €20
Minor playing €30
Membership can be paid to Club Registrar,Ger Donnelly(085-1743249) or any Club Officer.

2011 will see a new Senior Hurling Management team at the helm. Seamus Quinn(Manager),Garry Mernagh(Coach),Tommy Maher & Brendan Carroll will guide the fortunes of our hurlers for the forthcoming season.We wish the lads every success for the forthcoming campaign.

Following their County semi final victory over Arravale Rovers,the team travel to Dolla to face North Champions Kilruane McDonaghs in the 2010 County Final.The teams met in last years Semi-Final in Toomevara where we emerged the victors after a close encounter.We wish the team management and players all the best as they defend their title in Dolla at 2pm on Sunday next January 23rd.

This year The Dome,Semple Stadium is the venue for our Annual Presentation night on Saturday March 19th.Please note the date in your Diary.More details in the coming weeks.

We congratulate Lar Corbett who will be honoured for the second year in a row with the Hurler of the Year Award from the United Sports Panel at a gala banquet in the Hotel Minella,Clonmel on Saturday January 29th.
In recent years Ger O Grady and Club President Mickey Byrnes were also the recepients of these awards.Tickets at €50 are available from Club Secretary,Thomas Callanan and Liam O Donnchu,a member of the organizing committee.

We regret the passing of Jimmy O Connell,Sarsfields Street a lifelong supporter of the Blues and former Treasurer of our club in the 1970s.He maintained a keen interest in the fortunes of the club and loved nothing better than to discuss our on field exploits wth his many friends.We extend our sympathy to his sisters Alice,Maureen and Peggy,his extended family and friends.

At our recent club meeting votes of sympathy were passed to the Hayes family,Bohernanave, Delaney family,Toomevara and Egan family,Gortnahoe.


The Annual General Meeting for Thurles Sarsfield Ladies football club will be held on Friday 28th January 2011 at the Sarsfield Centre at 7pm sharp. All players and club members must attend. All minor players and parents are invited to come along. See you all there.