Latest News‎ > ‎

Maher gets the nod in GPA Hurling Team of Year

posted 3 Nov 2010, 01:39 by Unknown user
Well done to Larry and Padraic!

By Colm Keys

Wednesday November 03 2010

Padraic Maher for JJ Delaney -- that was the only change on the Opel GPA Hurling Team of the Year for 2010 from the Vodafone GAA All Stars when the players' body announced their selection yesterday.

Maher's performances in the All-Ireland series at left half-back convinced the players that he was more deserving of the position than Delaney, who also had an outstanding year.

The Tipperary U-21 hurling captain had started the season at full-back, but was resited after Tipperary's Munster championship defeat to Cork in Pairc Ui Chaoimh last May.

The minimum change tilts the balance of representation heavily in Tipperary's favour on the team with seven for the All-Ireland champions and just four for the team they defeated last September.

Maher is joined by colleagues Brendan Cummins, Paul Curran, Brendan Maher, Noel McGrath, Lar Corbett and Eoin Kelly on the team which will be honoured at Friday night's banquet.

Jackie Tyrrell, Tommy Walsh, Michael Fennelly and Richie Power are the Kilkenny representatives, with Noel Connors joining John Mullane and Michael Walsh from Waterford. Galway's Damien Hayes completes the selection.

GPA members voted on the team after the nominations were pared down to three per position by a committee under the chairmanship of the current Limerick manager Donal O'Grady.

Opel GPA Hurling Team of the Year

B Cummins (Tipperary); N Connors (Waterford), P Curran (Tipperary), J Tyrrell (Kilkenny); T Walsh (Kilkenny), M Walsh (Waterford), P Maher (Tipperary); M Fennelly (Kilkenny), B Maher (Tipperary); D Hayes (Galway), N McGrath (Tipperary), L Corbett (Tipperary); E Kelly (Tipperary), R Power (Kilkenny), J Mullane (Waterford).

Individual award Nominees

GPA Hurler of the Year

L Corbett (Tipperary), M Fennelly (Kilkenny), B Maher (Tipperary), T Walsh (Kilkenny).

Christy Ring Player of the Year

J Clarke (Westmeath), T Murnane (Kerry), J O'Neill (Wicklow), P Braniff (Down).

Nicky Rackard Player of the Year

M Mythen (London), P McCormack (Armagh).

- Colm Keys

Irish Independent