Latest News‎ > ‎

Munster Hurling Semi-Final Press Pack

posted 5 Nov 2012, 15:45 by Unknown user   [ updated 16 Nov 2012, 07:24 ]

2012 AIB Munster Club Senior Hurling
Championship Semi-Final

Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary) v Sarsfields (Cork)

When – Sunday November 11th at 2:30pm

Where – Semple Stadium Thurles

Referee – Michael Wadding (Waterford)

Extra time
– (2 periods x 10 minutes only) to be played if sides finish level at the end of 60 minutes

Replay date – Saturday November 17th at a Cork venue

Next Round – the winners play Newmarket-on-Fergus (Clare) or De La Salle (Waterford) in the Munster Club Final on Sunday November 25th.

Admission Prices
Adults - €15
Student/OAP - €10
All Under 16s free

Contact Munster GAA PRO Ed Donnelly at for more information

For the Record


Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary)

Sarsfields (Cork)

2012 Team Manager

Seamus Quinn

Pat Ryan

2012 Team Captain

Padraic Maher

Joe Barry

Number of Munster Club Senior Hurling titles



Last Munster Club
Senior Hurling Title



Number of Munster Club Senior Hurling titles
(by County)



Last Munster Club
Senior Hurling Title
(by County)

(Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary 1-6
Tulla, Clare 0-7)

(Newtownshandrum, Cork 2-11 Ballygunner, Waterford 2-9)

Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship Record since 2000 for each county’s representative

Played – 24
Won – 13
Lost –  9
Drawn – 2

Played – 19
Won – 10
Lost –  9
Drawn – 0

Last meeting in the Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship involving participating county representatives

November 1st 2009 at Semple Stadium Thurles
(Munster Club Quarter-Final)
Newtownshandrum (Cork)            0-19
Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary) 1-15

Odds and Ends

The last home victory by a Tipperary Club Senior Hurling champion in the Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship came in 2007 when Loughmore-Castleiney defeated Erins Own (Cork) by 2-11 to 0-14 in the Quarter-Final at Semple Stadium Thurles.


Munster GAA HURLING Club Senior Championship 2012



Sunday October 28th

@ Kilmallock                                    Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary) 2-12 Kilmallock (Limerick) 0-15

Sunday November 11th (Replay date – Saturday November 17th)


@ Sixmilebridge           Newmarket-on-Fergus (Clare) v De La Salle (Waterford) 2:00pm


@ Semple Stadium Thurles Sarsfields (Cork) v Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary) 2:30pm



Sunday November 25th  (Replay date – Saturday December 1st)

2:00pm throw-in

Odds and Ends


No home team has won a match in the Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship over the past 3 seasons, a run of 7 games of success for the travelling team.


Sarsfields (Cork) won the Cork title for the third time in five seasons last month thanks to a 1-15 to 1-13 victory over Bishopstown. Sarsfields (Cork) centre-forward Cian McCarthy was the top scorer in the Cork SH final scoring 8 points, 6 from frees. On their two previous appearances in the Munster Club Championship, Sarsfields (Cork) lost to De La Salle on both occasions with both matches played at Pairc Ui Chaoimh,  2008 (0-18 to 0-16) and 2010 (0-22 to 2-15 – after extra time).


Thurles Sarsfields won their fourth County title in Tipperary since last 2005 last month to qualify for the Munster Club Championship. Thurles Sarsfields record in Munster since 2005 sees them with three wins (over Kilmallock, Limerick twice and Lixnaw, Kerry). They also have three defeats in that period, on each occasion losing to the eventual Munster champion (Newtownshandrum, Cork twice and De La Salle, Waterford).


Tipperary hold the record for the number of clubs that have won the Munster title, with eight different clubs all claiming provincial victories on behalf of the county (Carrick Davins, Roscrea, Moycarkey-Borris, Kilruane MacDonaghs, Borris-Ileigh, Cashel King Cormacs, Toomevara and Loughmore-Castleiney).


Newmarket-on-Fergus (Clare) reached the final of the Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship on five occasions, winning the title in 1967 (3-9 to 2-7 v Carrick Davins, Tipperary) and in 1968 (5-8 to 4-3 v Ballygunner, Waterford). Newmarket-on-Fergus lost the Munster Finals of 1973, 1974 and 1978.


Newmarket-on-Fergus (Clare) along with Roscrea (Tipperary), Blackrock (1979) and St. Joseph’s Doora-Barefield (Clare) are the only clubs in Munster to win back to back Provincial club titles.


De La Salle (Waterford) have never lost a match in the Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship. In their four matches to date, they have only scored one goal in 200 minutes of action (against Adare (Limerick) in the 2008 Munster Club Final). De La Salle have won their four matches by a total of six points, winning the Munster titles of 2008 and 2010.


Of the 5 participating counties in this year’s Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship, Waterford have the best record since 2000 with 17 victories and 1 draw out of 26 matches played. Tipperary has the next best record with 13 wins and 2 draws out of 24 games. Cork have a marginally winning record while Clare and Limerick have losing records since 2000 at this grade.


Cork won 10 Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship titles in a row from 1971 through 1980 during a period where the Cork champions contested 12 Munster finals in a row. Interestingly, Cork then went from 1987 to 2003 without winning the title.


The Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship is very competitive with only one score separating the champions and runner-up in each final from 2004 through 2011 (drawn match).

Munster GAA Club HURLING Senior Championship Roll Of Honour

Cork (17) – 1964, 1965, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1983, 1987, 2003, 2005, 2009


Tipperary (11) – 1966, 1969, 1970, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1991, 1993, 2004, 2006, 2007


Clare (9) – 1967, 1968, 1984, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000


Limerick (6) – 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, 1994, 2011


Waterford (5) – 1981, 2001, 2002, 2008, 2010


Munster GAA Club HURLING Senior Championship – List of Winning Teams


Visit the Munster GAA web site History section to view the complete list of each winning team since the competition began 1888 -

All Ireland GAA Club
HURLING Senior Championship


In the Club Senior Hurling All Ireland Roll of Honour, Cork clubs have won 9 titles followed by Tipperary with 3 and Clare with 2. Galway lead the roll of honour with 11 club titles followed by Kilkenny clubs with 10.


Munster Club Senior HURLING Cup

Club Championship Senior Hurling Cup - O’Neill Cup

Presented by Sarsfields Club, Cork, in 1972 to commemorate Billy O’Neill who founded their club in 1903.