Latest News‎ > ‎

Thurles Sarsfields through to Munster Club SHC final

posted 16 Nov 2012, 07:05 by Unknown user

Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 05:25 PM

Thurles Sarsfields ran out 2-20 to 2-15 winners over Cork champions Sarsfields in this afternoon's AIB Munster Club SHC semi-final clash at Semple Stadium.

Lar Corbett and Richie Ruth scored the Tipperary side's goals with Pa Bourke (0-7, 0-2f), Aidan McCormack (0-5) and Johnny Enright (0-4, 0-3f) claiming the bulk of their points.

Cian McCarthy levelled for Sars in injury-time, but a final spurt from the Tipp men - including Ruth's goal and points from McCormack and Enright - sealed the home win.

Leading 1-11 to 1-8 at the break, Thurles were sent on their way by Corbett's seventh-minute goal. The former Hurler of the Year netted after a terrific catch near midfield and a storming run through the Sars rearguard.

But Sars were back level within six minutes, drawing encouragement from goalkeeper Alan Kennedy's save of stinging Pa Bourke drive.

Just moments later, Sars midfielder Eoin Quigley started and finished a clever move with his goal squaring things up at 1-4 apiece.

Thurles corner forward McCormack then took centre stage during a six-point surge from the hosts and that key period kept them ahead for the interval.

Thurles remained on course with early second half points from Bourke and Enright, stretching the margin to five in front of a 2,934-strong crowd.

However, the Tipp club wobbled when Quigley burst through for his second goal in the 48th minute and the equally impressive Ronan Murphy tagged on a point for 1-17 to 2-12.

Free-taker McCarthy fired over three more points in the closing stages, boosting his own tally to 0-8 (0-6, 0-1 '65') and getting Sars back on terms.

Thurles hit some bad wides during this spell, but substitute Ger 'Redser' O'Grady landed a confidence-boosting point and they killed off Sars' challenge in injury-time as Michael Cahill's strong run set up Ruth's goal.

Thurles will face Waterford champions De La Salle in the provincial decider on Sunday, November 25.